skip to primary navigationskip to content

Winners of the Best Student Paper Award


Cambridge Finance is proud to announce that the winners of the Best student Paper Award for 2016-2017 are:

Ekaterina Smetanina (Faculty of Economics)

Real-time GARCH: Modelling and forecasting the tail

behaviour of asset returns


Emile Marin (Faculty of Economics)

Self-fulfilling Crises and Country Solidarity


Vaska Atta-Darkua (Cambridge Judge Business School)

Received Honourable Mention

for her paper:

Corporate Ethical Behaviours and Equity Value:

evidence from the Norwegian Sovereign Wealth

Fund's ethical exclusions



Simon Lloyd (Faculty of Economics)

Estimating Nominal Interest Rate Expectations: Overnight Indexed Swaps and the Term Structure

Jonathan Smith (Faculty of Economics)

Received Honourable Mention

for his paper


The Leverage Ratio, Risk-Taking and Bank Stability


Scott Lang (Department of Law)

Received Honourable Mention

for his paper

A Critical Analysis of Whether the Zone Tax Offset contravenes the Australian Constitutional Prohibition on Taxes that Discriminate between States or Parts of States


Anil Ari, Faculty of Economics, Sovereign Risk and Bank Risk-Taking


Jeroen Dalderop, Faculty of Economics, Nonparametric State-Price Density using High-Frequency Data



D. B. R. Derrett, Diffusion-generated Jump Processes:A Framework for Efficient Pricing with Jumps and Stochastic Volatility


Nicky Ferguson (co-authored with P. Raghavendra Rau), Understanding Equity Co-movement: An Information Based Approach

Edmond Smith Received Honourable Mention for his paper, Crowdfunding an Early Modern Start-up: Mapping Investment in the East India Company


Arun Thillaisundaram, The Merton Problem with a Drawdown Constraint on Consumption


Gabor Pinter (joint paper with Peter N. Gal) - Capital in the Business Cycle: Renting versus Ownership

2010-2011 (awarded to 2 papers):

Henri Buchsteiner, Cambridge Judge Business School & Kiril Zavadov, Department of Land Economy - 'Bubbles & Crises in Open Economies'

Ezequiel Antar, Statistical Laboratory - 'Mutually beneficial contingent claims in incomplete markets'


Sergejs Saksonovs, Faculty of Economics - Explaining external asset allocation: a multi-country model with preference heterogeneity


Dapeng Gu, Faculty of Economics - External imbalances and sustainability


The deadline for submission of papers is 31st May each year.

The winner is announced at the Cambridge Finance student lunch in June.

View full details of the entry criteria here.

« February 2018 »

RSS Feed Latest news

Best Student Paper Award 2018 - registration is now open

Feb 02, 2018

For the last ten years, Cambridge Finance is offering its Best Student Paper Award. The award comprises a cash honorarium of £1,000 and a certificate is awarded to the author of the best student paper in finance presented during the 2017-2018 academic year.

View all news

Upcoming events

Cambridge Finance Workshop - William H. Janeway

Feb 22, 2018

Room W4.03, Cambridge Judge Business School

Cambridge Finance Workshop - Marco Bonomo

Mar 08, 2018

KH107(Keynes House), Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge

Cambridge Finance Workshop - Richard Sloan

May 03, 2018

Room W4.03, Cambridge Judge Business School

Previous events

Upcoming events